Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
New Curriculum


Changes to the new curriculum begin in September 2015 with Maths and English.


Students will sit the same paper regardless of their ability. With less coursework exams will become more important and exams will be made harder.


GCSE grades are also changing from letters to numbers:


Current GCSE Grading Structure:


            A*        A         B         C         D         E         F          G         U


New GCSE Grading Structure:


            9          8          7          6          5          4          3          2          U


Maths will be more ‘challenging’ with more emphasis on problem solving and will contain more material than the current curriculum and will require pupils to answer real world problems including financial mathematics. 


New topics, such as ratio and proportion will be studied and students will be expected to learn mathematical formulas by heart.   


Schools will be encouraged to spend more time teaching Maths in order to cover the extra, trickier material.



English as a single GCSE subject will cease to exist and English Language and English Literature will both become un-tiered.


In English Language 20% of the marks for the written exams will be allocated to accurate spelling, punctuation and grammar and while there will be no set texts, students will be expected to read a wider range of texts.


In English Literature, students will be required to study at least one Shakespeare play, a Victorian novel and modern British fiction or drama since 1914.   Poetry is also set to become a bigger part of the GCSE syllabus from 2015, with pupils required to study at least 15 poems by at least five different poets.

Read More