Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Salt to the sea

Salt to the sea

By: Sepetys, Ruta Jones, Matt(Designed by)

stars icon
0141347406 / 9780141347400
Paperback
813.6
04/02/2016
500+ in stock Need More ?
England
20 cm 391 pages : maps (black and white)
Teenage / Young Adult  Learn More
Quiz No: 231098, Points 10.00, Book Level 4.50,
Upper Years - Key Stage 3 Learn More
  • Details

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.

Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories.

Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War.

When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board.

Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

BIC:

5AN Interest age: from c 12 years, YFB General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£5.95
RRP £7.99
Save 25.5%
Already in Basket