Image for A Bitter Remedy

A Bitter Remedy : A totally compelling historical mystery

Part of the The Oxford Mysteries series
See all formats and editions

Amongst the scholars, secrets and soporifics of Victorian Oxford, the truth can be a bitter pill to swallow...Jesus College, Oxford, 1881.

An undergraduate is found dead at his lodgings and the medical examination reveals some shocking findings.

When the young man's guardian blames the college for his death and threatens a scandal, Basil Rice, a Jesus College fellow with a secret to hide, is forced to act and finds himself drawn into Sidney Parker's sad life. The mystery soon attracts the attention of Rhiannon 'Non' Vaughan, a young Welsh polymath and one of the young women newly admitted to university lectures.

But when neither the college principal nor the powerful ladies behind Oxford's new female halls will allow her to become involved, Non's fierce intelligence and determination to prove herself drive her on. Both misfits at the university, Non and Basil form an unlikely partnership, and it soon falls to them to investigate the mysterious circumstances of Parker's death.

But between corporate malfeasance and snake-oil salesmen, they soon find the dreaming spires of Oxford are not quite what they seem... An intriguing first installment of The Oxford Mysteries series by master crime writer, Alis Hawkins.

Perfect for fans of Laura Shepherd-Robinson, S.G. MacLean and Kaite Welsh. Praise for A Bitter Remedy 'An excellent historical mystery dripping with atmosphere that exposes the chauvinism, misogyny and bigotry of late Victorian England' The Times'Her inventiveness is prodigal' Financial Times'Fearlessly tackles taboo attitudes of the era, taking aim at misogyny, homophobia, and sexual politics.

An excellent addition to the historical mystery canon.

Marvellous!' Vaseem Khan, author of Midnight at Malabar House'A Bitter Remedy is a perfect tonic for our times.' S.

G. MacLean author of The Seeker'Absolutely brilliant! Thoughtful, complex and engrossing' Chris Lloyd, author of The Unwanted Dead'A superb atmospheric mystery to the last page' Rachel Lynch, author of Dark Game'I can't wait for Non and Basil's next case!' Katherine Stansfield author of Falling Creatures

Read More
Available
£12.74 Save 25.00%
RRP £16.99
Add Line Customisation
33 in stock Need More ?
Add to List
Product Details
Canelo Crime
1800328575 / 9781800328570
Hardback
823.92
23/03/2023
United Kingdom
English
Modern crime
357 pages
25 cm
General (US: Trade) Learn More