Image for Life of R Wagner Vol 4

Life of R Wagner Vol 4

See all formats and editions

Ernest Newman's four-volume Life of Wagner, originally published between 1933 and 1947, remains a classic work of biography.

The culmination of forty years' research on the composer and his works (Newman's first Study of Wagner was first published in 1899), these books present a detailed portrait of perhaps the most influential, the most controversial and the most frequently reviled composer in the whole history of western music.

Newman was aware that no biography can ever claim to be complete or completely accurate: 'The biographer can at no stage hope to have reached the final truth.

All he can do is to make sure that whatever statement he may make, whatever conclusion he may come to, shall be based on the whole of the evidence available at the time of writing.' In this aim he triumphantly succeeds.Volume IV completes the story from 1866 to Wagner's death in 1883.

It covers the composition ofDie MeistersingerandParsifal, the completion of theRing, Wagner's marriage to Cosima Liszt von Bulow, and the building of Bayreuth.

Read More
Special order line: only available to educational & business accounts. Sign In
Product Details
0804152381 / 9780804152389
eBook (EPUB)
768 pages
Copy: 10%; print: 10%