Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Nisha's war

Nisha's war

By: Smith, Dan

stars icon
1912626756 / 9781912626755
Paperback
03/02/2022
88 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
20 cm 359 pages : illustrations (black and white)
Children / Juvenile  Learn More
Illustrations on inside covers.

From acclaimed author Dan Smith comes a page-turning, atmospheric ghost story packed full of adventure and heart ... 'What a story ... absolutely gripping' EMMA CARROLL 'An enchanting, beautifully crafted wartime tale'ALLY SHERRICK Malaya, 1942.

Nisha's home is destroyed by war and she and her mother, Amma, flee to her father's ancestral house in England, perched on a cliff top on the cold Northern coast. When Amma falls gravely ill, Nisha is left to face her formidable grandmother alone.

Grandmother's rules are countless, and her Anglo-Indian granddaughter is even forbidden from climbing the old weeping tree. But when a ghost child beckons Nisha to sit under its boughs, and promises her Amma's life in return for three truths, its pull proves irresistible ... A thrilling historical ghost story; full of adventure, grief, guilt, forgiveness and belonging A fresh angle on a wartime story: the prejudice Nisha faces as a refugee feels particularly relevant today Perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emma Carroll Praise for Dan Smith: 'Action, adventure, wolves, snow ... this story has EVERYTHING. I devoured it so quickly I need to read it again.' EMMA CARROLL on She Wolf 'This book grabbed me from page one - highly recommended' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY on My Friend the Enemy

BIC:

VFVX Intergenerational relationships, YFB General fiction (Children's / Teenage), YFC Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), YFD Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage), YFN Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), YFT Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage), YNN Natural history (Children’s/Teenage), YXF Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's / Teenage), YXL Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's / Teenage), YXZW Social issues: war & conflict issues (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£5.99
RRP £7.99
Save 25%
Other Formats