Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660

What To Read Next?

What To Read Next?

We’ve all been there – you excitedly find out that your favourite book has been turned into a TV series. After binge watching it (and undoubtedly having a strong opinion on whether it does the book justice) you’re left feeling bereft … you’ll have to wait a year for the next series!

Instead of trying to find something similar to watch why not find something similar to read?

At Browns Books we’ve chosen some of the most talked about series that are streaming at the moment and hand-picked our favourite books that you would also enjoy – making it easy to find something to read next and perhaps to discover a new favourite book.

Killing floor

Child, Lee

Paperback

Jack Reacher is an ex-Army drifter who invariably ends up in a small town with a deadly secret. We love Reacher for his strong sense of ‘doing the right thing’ mixed with his get-the-first-punch-in attitude – these make for fast moving and gripping thrillers and our recommendations on what to read next are very similar in style.

More Details

Our Recommendations

See More

The killing season

Cross, Mason

Paperback

More Details

The never game

Deaver, Jeffery

Paperback

More Details

Long road to Mercy

Baldacci, David

Paperback

More Details

The monkey's raincoat

Crais, Robert

Paperback

More Details

Slow horses

Herron, Mick

Paperback

Based on Mick Herron’s wonderfully quick-witted series which feature a washed-up and dysfunctional team of MI5 agents. Slow Horses is a masterful spy novel and our recommendations on what to read next features a mix of classic and modern novels that also showcase this enduring genre.

More Details

Our Recommendations

See More

A long night in Paris

Alfon, Dov

Paperback

More Details

The Trinity Six

Cumming, Charles

Paperback

More Details

Our man in Havana

Greene, Graham

Paperback

More Details

Kolymsky Heights

Davidson, Lionel

Paperback / softback

More Details

The eye of the world

Jordan, Robert

Paperback

Action, adventure and drama aplenty can be found in the Wheel of Time series which was written by Robert Jordan and completed posthumously by Brandon Sanderson. The Wheel of Time is one of the greatest high-fantasy epics ever written, and our what-next list will help you find other worldbuilding fantasy novels to lose yourself in.

More Details

Our Recommendations

See More

The sword of Shannara

Brooks, Terry

Paperback

More Details

Assassin's apprentice

Hobb, Robin

Paperback

More Details

Sabriel

Nix, Garth

Paperback

More Details

Outlander

Gabaldon, Diana

Paperback

More Details

One of us is lying

McManus, Karen M.

Paperback

The compelling and binge-worthy first series of One of Us Is Lying resonated strongly with its intended YA audience, and with good reason. The premise is simple: five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide. Our suggestions on what to read next are all standout novels that similarly keep the reader on the edge of their seat.

More Details

Our Recommendations

See More

The inheritance games

Barnes, Jennifer Lynn

Paperback

More Details

We were liars

Lockhart, E.

Paperback

More Details

A good girl's guide to murder

Jackson, Holly

Paperback

More Details

You'll be the death of me

McManus, Karen M.

Paperback

More Details

Hilda - the wilderness stories

Pearson, Luke

Laminated

Plucky heroine Hilda with her jaunty beret and yellow scarf is delighting young viewers (and appreciated by parents who are also having to watch). The on-screen stories are faithful to the graphic novels they are based on, and we’ve suggested other similar fun comics and graphic novels with plenty of visual details and quirky humour for the littlest readers to enjoy.

More Details

Our Recommendations

See More

Zita the spacegirl

Hatke, Ben

Paperback

More Details

Unlikely friends

Feuti, Norm

Paperback

More Details

The terrible tales of the teenytinysaurs!

Northfield, Gary

Paperback

More Details

The boy who crashed to Earth

Winick, Judd

Paperback

More Details