Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for This lovely city

This lovely city

By: Hare, Louise

stars icon
0008332606 / 9780008332600
Paperback
823.92
04/02/2021
Published 04/02/2021
England
General
20 cm 400 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: HQ, 2020.

* Selected for the new BBC Two TV book club, Between the Covers, airing October 2020 * Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award Indie Book of the Month for March, selected by the Booksellers Association One of OBSERVER'S 10 best debut novelists of 2020 WOMAN & HOME Best of 2020 EVENING STANDARD Best books of 2020 MAIL ON SUNDAY 2020 Highlights I Best of 2020 * * * * 'Full of life and love... it made my heart soar, and should be on every Londoner's shelf' Stacey Halls 'Convincing and involving' Sunday Times 'Mistress of suspense, Hare keeps us guessing till the end' Daily Mail 'A thought-provoking and imaginative debut' Woman & Home 'Fans of Zadie Smith and Andrea Levy won't want to miss Louise Hare's enthralling debut novel' Elle 'Poignant and authentic' Observer * * * * The drinks are flowing. The music is playing. But the party can't last. With the Blitz over and London reeling from war, jazz musician Lawrie Matthews has answered England's call for help.

Fresh off the Empire Windrush, he's taken a tiny room in south London lodgings, and has fallen in love with the girl next door. Touring Soho's music halls by night, pacing the streets as a postman by day, Lawrie has poured his heart into his new home - and it's alive with possibility.

Until, one morning, he makes a terrible discovery. As the local community rallies, fingers of blame are pointed at those who had recently been welcomed with open arms. And, before long, the newest arrivals become the prime suspects in a tragedy which threatens to tear the city apart. Atmospheric, poignant and compelling, Louise Hare's debut shows that new arrivals have always been the prime suspects.

But, also, that there is always hope. * * * * MORE PRAISE FOR THIS LOVELY CITY: 'I loved, loved, loved it' Cathy Rentzenbrink 'Full to the brim with such complete joys and heart-aching tragedies ... you can feel the warmth and colour emanating from the pages' Magic Radio Book Club 'Expect to be obsessed . . . [a book] you need to know about' Good Housekeeping

BIC:

1DBKESL London, Greater London, 3JJP c 1945 to c 2000 (Post-war period), FFH Historical mysteries, FV Historical fiction

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%
Other Formats